Satyamev Jayate – A candid review


When I first saw Aamir’s casual look and approach in the ads of Satyamev Jayate, I told my husband “This is going to be a flop. Aamir is trying too hard to be casual. This is going to fall flat on his face” In fact, the ad where he claims that this show will change your life and comparing his show to stalwarts like Mughal-e-azam saying,”If a film like Mughal-e-Azam can beat all norms and barriers, why cant our show!” That ad was too much for me to take. I felt it reeked of desperation – a last resort to make people watch the show!

As you can say, I wasnt too positive about the show. So, when I switched on my TV to watch the first episode, I was ready and willing to confirm my initial prophecy.

I was wrong.

So wrong.

I watched the show last night. And totally loved it. Also, because I feel very strongly about Female Foeticide and Infanticide situation in India. What Aamir said about the issue did not come as a surprise to me since I had already read about Mitu Khurana’s case and even blogged about it, but I am certain it was a definite eye-opener for the whole of India. Female foeticide is a gruesome fact which is a big dark blot on the canvas of modern India. The fact that the educated and well-to-do are so heavily involved in this crime is a testimony to the fact that this is not just an affliction of the less privileged! In fact, Bharati who lives in the slum of Vastrapur area is a shining example of that! I am determined to look her up in my next trip to Ahmedabad and tell her to keep going strong!

Some of my famous lines from the show:

Atyachar karna jitna paap hota hai utna sehna bhi paap hai (It is as much of a crime to put up with torture as it is to commit one) – Parveen Khan

Zindagi hamein bahut kuch sikhati hai, kabhi hasati hai to kabhi rulati hai… par jo har haal me khush rehte hain, zindagi unke saamne sar jhukati hai (Life teaches us a lot, it makes us laugh sometimes, it makes us cry. But those who remain happy in all circumstances, life bows down in front of them) – Parveen Khan

I would like to reach out to all of you and implore you to watch the episode. You will not be disappointed.

You can watch it here:

If you really think needs to stop, do not waste one more second. Go right away and cast your vote here.

8 thoughts on “Satyamev Jayate – A candid review

  1. It is indeed a great start to Hopefully something very good .. and i hope every one watches it and thinks about the real issues that are hampering our nation ..

    a great start looking forward to other episodes…

  2. The show highlighted the sad state of affairs of Indian judiciary and apathetic attitude of law managers about this issue…..it is not that we were not aware of horrifying stories of Ms Avisha, Ms Parveen or Dr. Mitu before this show, but everyone prefers to turn their back about it…..Also, it pointed out that it is not only men who commit this crime but womenfolk also participate actively to get rid of baby girls.

    Hope this wave of change move at least some of the blocks :-)

  3. I thought the workshop in the 2nd one on Child Sexual Abuse was really well done.. the third one was a little disappointing… What did you guys think?

  4. Pretty section of content. I just stumbled upon your website and in accession capital to assert that I get
    actually enjoyed account your blog posts. Anyway I will be subscribing to your feeds and even I achievement
    you access consistently quickly.

  5. Woah! I’m really digging the template/theme of this blog. It’s simple, yet effective.
    A lot of times it’s very difficult to get that “perfect balance” between user friendliness and visual appearance. I must say that you’ve done a awesome job with this.
    In addition, the blog loads super quick for me on Chrome.
    Outstanding Blog!

Leave a Reply

