I walked into a popular show room in Ahmedabad, a big one at that, located in one of the busiest commercial centers of the city… To give you a background… I am re-decorating my room… So, I wanted to buy a couple of decent curtains and I was quite open to buying a lot of good stuff… as long as it fitted with the decor of my room…

And so, I looked around… I noticed a couple of decent curtains… but they werent in the color i was looking for… so i look around… 3 identically dressed women, who seemed to be sales-girls were sitting huddled up in a corner…

One of them was talking to her boyfriend/lover/husband/some one special (Oh! Come on… u can make that out from the way her head was tilted in a particular way and her fingers were caressing a loose strand of hair)… she obviously wasnt interested in anyone who would interfere with her coochie-cooing, so she ignored me completely… she looked right past me without noticing me… so much so that I had to touch my wrist to see if I was wearing the famous Mr. India watch…

I was exasperated… desperately seeking some help, I looked at the other two… They were busy wrapping some gifts… I am sure this fell under the purview of their defined “roles and responsibilities”, so when I asked them “Curtains kahan milenge?” The reply came in the form of some more searching on their end… kinda like the look u get when you ask an already lost person, route to some place…

So, I was still standing waiting for some help to come, when i decided it was high time i start looking around myself. So, I started scooting through the piles of what seemed like curtains… when i moved to another shelf… thats when one guy comes running towards me… and declares

“You are not supposed to touch this. This material is for show. The one for use, is behind in that rack.”

“Now, How am I supposed to know this?”

“You shouldnt touch something without knowing na”

At this, I look at him, in sheer pity, and walk out!