Olympics

While I was trying to understand the logic behind people wanting to boycott the 29th Summer Olympics, I read how the Olympics Logo had come into being (its evil!).

Here is my take on the issue.

Aamir Khan refused to boycott the Beijing Olympics 2008 and said that he will carry the torch, while Baichung Bhutia has refused to carry the Olympic torch! 

One, a prominent footballer, while the other a prominent name in the entertainment industry. Both celebrities in their own right from different walks of life. This is what each had to say!

Baichung Bhutia said

I sympathize with the Tibetan cause. I have many friends in Sikkim who follow Buddhism. This is my way of standing by the people of Tibet and their struggle. I abhor violence in any form.

While, Aamir was quoted saying

I have the highest regard for the struggle that the people of Tibet are going through. I completely empathise with them. I categorically state that I am absolutely against any form of violence, and certainly I am deeply upset whenever the basic rights of human beings are violated anywhere in the world. However, I feel that the Olympic Games do not belong to China.

I agree with Aamir here. I think boycotting Olympics does not mean boycotting China! And associating one of the biggest sports events in the world to the place they are held, is taking things a wee bit too far! My personal sentiment is that by participating in Olympics, people would not be supporting China, nor would they be against the cause of the People of Tibet. And on the same hand, boycotting the event wont in any way help the People of Tibet.

The spirit of Olympics has always been the coming together of hundreds of people from the different nations of the world to compete against each other. It reflects true brotherhood, true sportsmanship! The venue of the event has nothing to do with the spirit with which the event is conducted!

Ever since Olympics was born, it has been conducted in United States, Soviet Union, South Korea to name a few countries. Can you point out any one country which is devoid of problems? Does that mean every time Olympics venue is decided, we start protests against the problems of that country? And let the event suffer?

Tell me, how does the spirit of the event in any way depend on the kind of problems its host country is facing? Is it justified then to mar the very fundamentals that Olympics stands for?

Here is to the spirit of Sports!

Here is to the spirit of the biggest sporting event in the world, Olympics!

Here is to all the people suffering all over the world!

Amen!