Before I begin the post, let me add that I am not particularly in favor of fasts – I dont think torturing yourself by not eating is a good way to impress God!

Nonetheless, there is something innately sweet and pristine about Karva ChauthI just love it🙂

I grew up watching my mom go through a day with a biggggg smile on her face and would always wonder how she got the strength to go through the day without a morsel of food or a drop of water.. Over the years, I began to appreciate all the emotions that Karva Chauth stands for… It is yet another expression of love… pure, unadulerated love for your husband.

A few people (feminists) think why only women should keep such fasts… why not men?

To that I would say… we women are lucky that we have a medium to express our love and dedication… If a man wants to keep this fast for his wife, he can… but he shouldnt be forced to do that…

Just like love cant be forced upon people, so shouldnt an expression of love🙂

I am excited about today – my first ever Karva Chauth…🙂 Let us see if I survive the day🙂

[PS You can find awesome Karva chauth stories here]