After my first Karva Chauth fast, a lot of people asked me how I was doing and if my husband had kept the fast for me too… I casually asked “How does that matter?”. And reply would inadvertently be “Mahila mukti morcha, you see”🙂 I know of women who stated, “I would not keep fast for my husband, if he did not do the same for me“.

As much as I tried, I could not link the two! My husband had not forced me to keep a fast and pray for him, then is it justified that I do? And do we really pray for our loved ones only if they pray for us in return? Since when did love become a “give and take” transaction? And finally, does being a Feminist mean oppressing men? I dont think so!

This led me to believe that people often confuse the two. They think being a feminist is the same as being a proponent of Gender Equality. It is not. In fact, one is the superset of another!

It is important to understand here that the fight is not against men, it is against oppression to any human, be it a man or a woman!

A true Feminist is the one who understands this difference! Otherwise, they are just FCPs :P [Do not ask me to expand this abbreviation please :)]