I have always been away from Football or Footy as Noobie calls it… I managed for a long time despite his best attempts of luring me to some good matches. As luck would have had it, the supposed “good” teams ended up playing real bad and I wud end up getting bored. Nothing was working… Noobie was unable to get me interested in this particular sport!!

So, here I was… happy, content, going on with life as usual, blissfully away from the fever that has engulfed the people all over the world over a phenomenon called FIFA!! Thats when the bug bit me… I hold a few things responsible for my surrender:

Noobie’s perseverance

He would drag me to these for-saken matches or sit at home sulking, not watching the matches himself (Blackmail always works, doesnt it :?) So, you would find me sitting in the condo-function room (where these matches were being broadcast) with a drawn-out expression… Anyone could look at me and make out that I was there against my supposed-will. And then, just the crowd’s enthusiasm at every supposed-goal/every yellow card/every near-miss.. Just the crowd’s reaction got me wondering… what the hell happened!! And then the curiosity killed the cat and in this case, the cat was me! I started asking questions – Thats exactly what Noobie wanted… And well, that was the start… I began understand how the game is played! And Messi creating waves on the court, coupled with Maradona’s antics off the court, dint help matters either!

Shakira

The woman sure can move!! And I blame her to a large extent for my surrender! Whats with the song (Waka Waka)? It is so bloody addictive!! I surely could not ignore this one… She had me completely mesmerised… And the South African tribal bits added beautifully into the song had me in a trance! *Doing* The lyrics do not make sense at all… and that gets u interested in finding out what it means. For eg, one part of lyrics goes Jumbo…eh eh… Jumbo… eh eh… Tsamina mina Zangaleva, Aanawa aa. That drew me to read about the meaning of the lyrics. The video is equally good – In fact when I could recognize a few football faces, I knew I was slipping away… faster than I thought…

Media

Football is so widely covered – by all forms and types of media that it is difficult to stay away from it altogether! I mean, for how long can you avoid new websites/facebook/twitter/blogosphere?? You name it and its there! And some websites even had the “Top 10 best goals/top 10 worst goals/worst players” lists on their websites, which took me closer to the game…

Now, I do not think I am a fan yet, but all I know is that I am desperately looking forward to the Argentina-Germany match this Saturday!🙂

[PS: If you havent watched it already, watch it here (combined with lyrics down)]

Oooeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeehh

You’re a good soldier
Choosing your battles
Pick yourself up
And dust yourself off
Get back in the saddle

You’re on the front line
Everyone’s watching
You know it’s serious
We are getting closer
This isn’t over

The pressure is on
You feel it
But you got it all
Believe it

When you fall get up, oh oh
If you fall get up, eh eh
Tsamina mina zangalewa
Cuz this is Africa
Tsamina mina, eh eh
Waka waka, eh eh
Tsamina mina zangalewa
This time for Africa

Listen to your God
This is our motto
Your time to shine
Don’t wait in line
Y vamos por todo

People are raising
Their expectations
Go on and feed them
This is your moment
No hesitations

Today’s your day
I feel it
You paved the way
Believe it

If you get down get up, oh oh
When you get down get up, eh eh
Tsamina mina zangalewa
This time for Africa
Tsamina mina, eh eh
Waka waka, eh eh
Tsamina mina zangalewa
Anawa a a
Tsamina mina, eh eh
Waka waka, eh eh
Tsamina mina zangalewa
This time for Africa

Awela Majoni Biggie Biggie Mama One A To Zet
Athi sithi LaMajoni Biggie Biggie Mama From East To West
Bathi . . . Waka Waka Ma Eh Eh Waka Waka Ma Eh Eh
Zonke zizwe mazi buye
Cuz this is Africa

Voice: Tsamina mina, Anawa a a
Tsamina mina
Tsamina mina, Anawa a a

Tsamina mina, eh eh
Waka waka, eh eh
Tsamina mina zangalewa
Anawa a a
Tsamina mina, eh eh
Waka waka, eh eh
Tsamina mina zangalewa
This time for Africa

Django eh eh
Django eh eh
Tsamina mina zangalewa
Anawa a a

Django eh eh
Django eh eh
Tsamina mina zangalewa
Anawa a a

(2x) This time for Africa

(2x) We’re all Africa

[Source: http://www.metrolyrics.com/waka-waka-lyrics-shakira.html]