Had the privilege of being in Kolkata during the Book Fair. My love for books was enough to make sure I keep a full day aside for the fair and it was so worth it…!!

There were halls full of stalls put up by various publishing houses and big book stores from all over the world. Apart from that, there were country specific set-ups! In the Italia setup, there were a few famous Italian authors floating by, seeing people’s responses to their books. It was all so informal and casual, no hangups, no starry tantrums… a few pictures and autographs here and there…

I have one regret though: I wish I was a little more prepared for the book show. For someone who doesnt know which type of books they want to browse, it can be pretty intimidating and there arent enough signs to guide you to your type of books. This type of fair was more for people who had come down to see all the stalls from A-Z. An undertaking of such a large scale should have better structure with maps handed out so people can find their way through the maze easily.

Another downside was that even though the book fair had inaugurated on 25th Jan, a lot of construction work was still going on, with many stalls not yet ready with books still stacked neatly in carton boxes. A lady at the food stall told us no electricity had been provided to her stall yet and so she could not serve any food.

All in all, I had a good time… Ended up buying something I had been wanting for a long time… My very own Tintin collection🙂

As soon as I have had time to unpack, I will be putting up a picture of my collection🙂

So, anyone else been to the Calcutta Book Fair?