Dear readers-who-have-taken-the-ice-bucket-challenge, I would like to ask you one simple question: “Do you know what is ALS?”

Social media and the ensuing #ALSIceBucketChallenge madness has given a whole new meaning to “Herd Mentality”! I have at least 50 odd friends who decided to take on the challenge. My facebook page is brimming with home videos of friends in various stages of undress emptying buckets onto their heads. They feel a sense of pride in having done that and it is evident as you see their proud, beaming faces! But wait… they do realise that emptying bucket means they wont have to donate. So, does that pride come from not having to part with $100? Tricky question as I try to wrap my head around the psyche! I am pretty sure some donated even as they took a very public ice-water bath! Then, you may ask, why waste water?

As much as my mind and rationale tells me otherwise, in some strange ways, this whole brewhaha and the accompanied inanity has met the much desired outcome! ALS campaign managed to raise over $31.5M!! You cannot have a better example of “Any publicity is good publicity”!! I, for one, did not know anything about ALS! Somewhere people making a fool of themselves prompted me to go find out more. So, with a hope that the money will be put to good use and we will soon have a cure for the dreaded disease, I am thankful to whoever started this campaign.

Does that make someone, who suffers from an equally dreadful moto-neuron disease, but a lot more widespread (like Multiple Sclerosis), cringe at the response? Probably yes! As much as my heart goes out to all suffering from ALS (around 30000 in the US), I also wish something was done for those suffering from MS (around 2.5M worldwide)! And this is just one example! If someone were to start an #IceBucketchallenge for another disease, no one would even take notice! It’s time now to think of the next weird thing! For all you know, it may end up saving many lives!

Plz throw away the bucket and donate! They need your money more than Mother Earth needs your water.

On that note, here is a hilarious compilation of all challenges gone wrong🙂

[youtube:=http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=0TDmhGkqv7g]