The World as I see it

My Life. My Views

Things on my mind… — August 14, 2007

Things on my mind…

My ramblings 

Those who know me and have been reading my blogs for a long time now, will help identify with the fact that I should have rather named my blog “Ramblings of an unsettled mind”

I read my blogs back today. They are Angry. Dejected. Anguished. Perplexed. Morose.

You do not use these words to describe the mind of a person who someday wants to bring about a change in the world. These are not the words you use to describe a go-getter! And yet, here I am…

Happiness eludes me… Most of the times… I have everything that a normal human being needs to be happy – Great family. Great friends. Good job. Good salary. Excellent roomies. A great place to live in. And yet… there are times when I am sad – indescribably sad. I do not know the origin, nor the cause.

I do want to bring about a change though, which is when I divert my mind to more frivolous yet effective things like movies, music, and so on…

What to do before your birthday!? —

What to do before your birthday!?

Ok, not that my birthday is coming… but a rather hilarious thought came to my head and I decided to share it with you all… So, here is my list of DOs and DONTs just before your birthday…

DOs

  • Plan in advance, say 3-4 months – prepare a wish list of the SMART itemsBalloons

  • Prioritize these on a need basis

  • Make a list of friends who will remember ur bday (Most important) and who, u know, will plan to get u something on your birthday for sure.

  • Start the allocation… which gift you would like to receive from which friend – the criteria must be chosen by you and only you!!

  • Now, comes the strategy part – When to drop the hint to your friend that this particular thing you have been waitin for, for ages now! Try a more subtle approach and not on-your-face types!!

  • If all goes well, you should be having a nice set of all the things u wanted, in ur shelf on your birthday 😉

DONTs

  • Do not talk about the same gift to more than one friend. Imagine getting your favorite CD from 2 different friends. Now, that is such a waste of time and resource. You cant afford to do that mistake.

  • It is very important to time your hints. They cant be toooo early (i mean u can possibly expect him to link ur liking towards something to ur bday which is till 2 months away) and you cant be telling him today that u would like something tomorrow. Lets be practical. Give him 10-15 days to ponder over it! 😉

So, there you go… Now, trust me it aint as bad as it sounds… You afterall doing a favour to your friends by telling them what u exactly want, rather than those poor souls scratching their heads and wondering what to get u 😉

Njoi people 😀